I Waited For the Lord

Week One in Ordinary Time, the Feast of St Ita, 475-570CE. She was born in County Waterford, Ireland, and founded a community of women in County Limerick, at a place now called Killeedy after her. She was known for her sanctity and for her gift of prophecy and was held in veneration by a large number of saints, both men and women.

The psalm at Matins reminding me of the Mendelssohn I Waited for the Lord we used to sing at my Anglican girls high school. Standing up in the gallery for the descant, our voices so high and pure, so strong. Music I loved.

 

Psalm 39:2,5,7-10 ©

Here I am, Lord! I come to do your will.
I waited, I waited for the Lord
  and he stooped down to me;
  he heard my cry.
Happy the man who has placed
  his trust in the Lord
and has not gone over to the rebels
  who follow false gods.
Here I am, Lord! I come to do your will.
You do not ask for sacrifice and offerings,
  but an open ear.
You do not ask for holocaust and victim.
  Instead, here am I.
Here I am, Lord! I come to do your will.
In the scroll of the book it stands written
  that I should do your will.
My God, I delight in your law
  in the depth of my heart.
Here I am, Lord! I come to do your will.
Your justice I have proclaimed
  in the great assembly.
My lips I have not sealed;
  you know it, O Lord.
Here I am, Lord! I come to do your will.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

