Edith Stein

 

Edith Stein

 

 

Feast of Teresa Benedicta of the Cross, sent to her death in Auschwitz as  Edith Stein.

 

While travelling during Holy Week of 1933, Edith stopped over in Cologne at the Carmelite convent during the service for Holy Thursday. She attended it with a friend, and by her own account, the homily moved her very deeply. She wrote:

I told our Lord that I knew it was His cross that was now being placed upon the Jewish people; that most of them did not understand this, but that those who did would have to take it up willingly in the name of all. I would do that. At the end of the service, I was certain that I had been heard. But what this carrying of the cross was to consist in, that I did not yet know.

Leave a Reply

