Teresa of Avila and the Church in struggle

From St Teresa of Avila’s  autobiography:

 

“At that time, the news reached me of harm being done to the Church, and that the works of her opponents were flourishing. This news distressed me greatly, and I wondered if I could do anything. I cried to the Lord and begged him that I might be his instrument to help remedy such evils…”

“As a result, I resolved that there was little that I could accomplish through my own limited power… So I discerned that I should follow the evangelical counsels as perfectly as I could, and invite others to do the same. It was was my desire that since the Lord has many enemies, and so few friends, that his few friends should be good ones…”

Leave a Reply

