Christmas, Mother and Child

Images of the Madonna and Child staying with me and this poem from Malcolm Guite:

Theotokos

 

You bore for me the one who came to bless

And bear for all and make the broken whole.

You heard his call, and in your open ‘yes’

You spoke aloud for every living soul.

Oh, Gracious Lady, child of your own child,

Whose mother-love still calls the child in me,

Call me again, for I am lost and wild

Waves surround me now. On this dark sea

Shine as a star and call me to the shore.

Open the door that all my sins would close

And hold me in your garden. Let me share

The prayer that folds the petals of the Rose.

Enfold me too in Love’s last mystery

And bring me to the one you bore for me

 

 

madonna-and-child-il-sassoferrato

Leave a Reply

