Random findings

‘The Son of God, by becoming flesh, summoned us to the revolution of tenderness.’ (Pope Francis, Evangelii Gaudium §88)

 

For a sermon of the Blessed Virgin to please me and to do me any good, I must see her real life, not her imagined life.  I am sure that her real life was very simple.  They show her to us as unapproachable, but they should present her as imitable, bringing out her virtues, saying that she lived by faith just like ourselves, giving proofs of this from the Gospel, where we read; “And they did not understand the words which he spoke to them.”  And that no less mysterious statement,”His father and mother marveled at what was said about him.” This admiration presupposes a certain surprise…”      Saint Therese of the Child Jesus

 

I thought (Niehaus, converting from Lutheranism to Catholicism) sought ecclesial authority, to become part of a church “rightly ordered.” But I was wrong there as well. What he sought was ecclesial density, a “density” characterized by an intensity of common teaching, worship vibrancy, the confidence of a tradition extending to the very beginnings of the Church, and the welcomed contention of many voices around and within all of it as each yet seeks better to understand the core, foundational truths that God is triune and Christ is fully God and fully human.

 

Merton:

… What was fragile has become powerful. I loved what was most frail. I looked upon what was nothing. I touched what was without substance, and within what was not, I am.” (The Sign of Jonas, 362)

Leave a Reply

